Untitled [\Requiem]

experimental short

9 min

2020

In Untitled [\Requiem] a visual and a musical composition are developed parallelly, based on a common abstract form. Video and music develop independently and according to their medium, but at the same time they go through the same formal process.

 

A man dressed in a black suit carrying an umbrella wanders through a mountainscape which is partly covered with snow. The barren landscape doesn’t seem stable and keeps changing constantly. Over time holes and gapes emerge and uncover the pixels of which the digital image is made of. Symbols like the moon, crystals or water create a dream-like feel and thus create a closeness to surrealism. Similar to these art forms, no coherent story can be made tangible behind these symbols. The video follows a formal, visual composition, with no narrative content.

The music spreads out a web of trumpet-like sounds which evokes the feeling of movement. At the same time manipulated vocal and orchestral passages are woven into this fabric. The contrasting sound surface becomes increasingly blurred and forms new patterns.

 

 

The collage-like look of the video is created by masking the video image. Through this process not only holes and gapes emerge but also the pixels which uncover the nature of the digital image. The two-dimensional image space is broken up and a z-axis is introduced as a third dimension. This is revealed by the perforated individual video tracks which are layered behind each other in space.

The auditory level interweaves different acoustic material in a similar way.

The main part is taken from Renaissance music and cantatas by J.S. Bach. Sampling techniques from hip-hop and typesetting techniques from classical music are used to form a new musical material.

visual composition:

Magdalena Salner

 

musical composition:

MandelBaum (aka Manuel Baumer)

 

Screenings and exhibitions:

Untitled [/Requiem] has been screened at the opening night of 'Diametrale - Filmfestival für Experimentelles und Komisches' in Innsbruck in July 2020.

Review by Francesco Cazzin

Untitled [Requiem]_©Magdalena_Salner
video still Untitled [\Requiem]
Untitled [Requiem]_©Magdalena_Salner
video still Untitled [\Requiem]
Untitled [Requiem]__©Magdalena_Salner
video still Untitled [\Requiem]

Untitled [\Requiem]

experimenteller Kurzfilm

9 min

2020

In Untitled [\Requiem] werden ausgehend von einem gemeinsamen abstrakten Formverlauf eine visuelle und auditive Komposition parallel erarbeitet. Video und Musik entwickeln sich unabhängig und ihrem Medium entsprechend, durchlaufen aber denselben formalen Prozess.

 

Zu sehen ist ein Mann im Anzug mit Sonnenschirm, der durch eine karge, teils mit Schnee bedeckte Berglandschaft wandert. Diese Landschaft ist nicht fest, sondern amorph, ändert sich beständig und wird durchlöchert. Immer wieder tauchen Symbole wie der Mond, Kristalle oder Wasser auf, die dem Werk einen traumähnlichen Charakter verleihen und somit eine Nähe zum Surrealismus herstellen. Wie auch in diesen Kunstformen, lässt sich hinter diesen Symbolen keine kohärente Geschichte entdecken, viel mehr folgt das Video einer formalen, visuellen Komposition, keinem narrativen Inhalt. Die Musik breitet ein Gewebe aus trompetenartigen Klängen aus, welches sich zunehmend in Bewegung setzt. Gleichzeitig werden verfremdete Gesangs- und Orchesterpassagen in dieses Gewebe mit eingeflochten. Die kontrastierenden Klangflächen verschwimmen immer mehr und bilden neue Muster aus.

 

Auf der visuellen Ebene wird der zweidimensionale Bildraum aufgebrochen und eine z-Achse als dritte Dimension in das Video eingeführt. Diese wird durch die Durchlöcherung der einzelnen Videospuren offengelegt. Durch Maskierung des Bildmaterials wird eine collagenartige Bearbeitung der Videospuren ermöglicht.

Die auditive Ebene verwebt auf ähnliche Weise verschiedenes akustisches Material miteinander. Dieses stammt zum größten Teil aus der Renaissance-Musik und den Kantaten von J.S. Bach. Durch Sampling-Techniken aus dem Hip-Hop und Satztechniken der klassischen Musik wird daraus ein neues musikalisches Material geformt.

Visuelle Komposition:

Magdalena Salner

Musikalische Komposition:

MandelBaum (aka Manuel Baumer)

Screenings und Ausstellungen:

Untitled [\Requiem] wurde am Premierenabend als Eröffnungsfilm der "Diametrale- Filmfestival für Experimentelles und Komisches" in Innsbruck im Juli 2020 gezeigt.

Review von Francesco Cazzin

Untitled [Requiem]_©Magdalena_Salner
Videostill Untitled [\Requiem]
Untitled [Requiem]_©Magdalena_Salner
Videostill Untitled [\Requiem]
Untitled [Requiem]__©Magdalena_Salner
Videostill Untitled [\Requiem]