Outlines

experiemental 3D short

30 min

2015-2017

Outlines utilises 3D technology to break down the traditional linear nature of time in motion picture. Through the use of modified 3D Glasses, it is made possible to watch two completely different films at once. Visual rhythms emerge as images overlap. This interplay, coupled with randomness and momentary synchronicity, underpinned by a strong soundscape, are an important part of the viewers experience.

Outlines Expanded

video installation with 3d glasses

30 min

2017

Outlines Expanded is the transfer of the experimental 3D short film Outlines from the usual cinema exposition into the exhibition space. A floating wall in which 57 3D glasses are installed allows the recipient to see the screened video in a different way. Not only the physical relation between recipient and installation plays an important role, but also metaphors and allusions in the film itself.

Idea and realisation:

Rafael Ludescher, Tom Marsh, Magdalena Salner

 

Starring:

Ottó Horváth

Screenings and exhibitions:

‘Outlines’ has been screened at Freies Theater in Innsbruck (September 2015) and at Medienwerkstatt in Vienna (January 2016). The adaptation for the exhibition space 'Outlines expanded' was part of the exhibition 'Bitoresc' at Heiligenkreuzer Hof | Sala Terrena of the university of applied arts Vienna (January 2017), at the exhibition 'The Essence 17' at Alte Post in Vienna (June 2017) and at the exhibition 'Exist' at Burggasse 98 in Vienna (September 2018).

outlines_videostill4_©Magdalena_Salner.j
video still Outlines
Outlines_Film Still_3.jpg
video still Outlines
Outline_Videostill3.png
video still Outlines
Outlines_Expandet_Installationsansicht_E
installation view Outlines Expanded -  The Essence 17
Outlines_Expandet_Exist2018_1.jpg
installation view Outlines Expanded - Exist
outlines_expanded_detailedview_©Magdalena_Salner
detailed view of the backside Outlines Expanded

Outlines

experiemnteller 3D Kurzfilm

30 min

2015-2017

Der experimentelle Kurzfilm Outlines zweckentfremdet die 3D Technologie, um damit die Linearität des Filmgeschehens aufzubrechen und die Möglichkeiten der dreidimensionalen Darstellung zu erforschen. Als technische Grundlage für den Experimentalfilm dient eine Modifizierung von 3D-active-shutter-Brillen, welche es ermöglicht zwei überlagerte Filme einzeln zu betrachten. Zusätzlich entsteht ein dritter Film, welcher mit unveränderten 3D-Brillen angesehen wird und sich aus der Überlagerung der einzelnen Filme ergibt. Die Musik dient als bindendes Element für alle drei Betrachtungsebenen des Filmes, da nur eine Tonspur verwendet wird.

Simultanität, Interferenzen, Bildrhythmen, verknüpfende Soundscapes und Zufälligkeiten spielen eine tragende Rolle für die Gesamtkomposition.

Outlines Expanded

Videoinstallation mit 3D Brillen

30 min

2017

Outlines Expanded ist die Überführung des experimentellen 3D-Kurzfilmes Outlines aus der gewohnten Kinosituation hinein in den Ausstellungsraum. Eine schwebende Wand in der 57 3D-Brillen verbaut sind, eröffnen den Rezipienten eine andre Art des Betrachtens. Dabei spielt die physische Beziehung zwischen Betrachtern und Installation ebenso eine wichtige Rolle, wie Metaphern und Anspielungen im Film selbst.

Das Projekt entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit Rafael Ludescher und Tom Marsh.

Darsteller:

Ottó Horváth

Screenings und Aussellungen:

Outlines wurde im Freien Theater in Innsbruck (Spetember 2015) und in der Medienwerkstatt in Wien (Januar 2016) gezeigt. Die Adaption für den Galerieraum Outlines Expanded war Teil der Ausstellung "Bitoresc" im Heiligenkreuzerhof | Sala Terrena der Universität der Angewandten kunst Wien (Janzuar 2017), der Ausstellung "The Essence 17" in der Alten Post in Wien (Juni 2017) und der QAusstellung "Exist" in der Burggasse 98 in Wien (September 2018).

outlines_videostill4_©Magdalena_Salner.j
Videostill Outlines
outlines_videostill6_©Magdalena_Salner.j
Videostill Outlines
outlines_videostill8_©Magdalena_Salner.j
Videostill Outlines
Outlines_Expandet_Installationsansicht_Essence2017_©Magdalena_Salner
Installationsansicht Outlines Expanded - The Essence 17
Outlines_Expandet_Exist2018__©Magdalena_Salner
Installationsansicht Outlines Expanded - Exist
outlines_expanded_detailedview_©Magdalena_Salner
Detailansicht Rückseite Outlines Expanded